Knock, nock, nock…

Dear Reader,

When there is a knock at the door our first reaction is to open it. Sometimes we do it so often, we forget to exercise caution. Looking or asking who it is before we open the door.  Is a mistake easy to make especially when like me, one lives in a gated community.  Eventually, after sometime we get folded into this false sense of security; like no one will be at our door unless they belong there.

This morning, I was woken by knock on the door. It was about five AM.  I looked at my clock radio and decided, maybe yet again they mistaken my door for that of my neighbor.  So I thought, they will eventually get tired of knocking.  In my tired scale I say, four or five knocks does the trick. The knocking continued, incessantly. My door, my windows, my neighbors’ doors and windows, then back to my apartment again.  I wanted to march straight to the door and say,

“Hello, you obviously have the wrong door, clue one, no one opened, I’m trying to sleep. Your relentless knocking is making it impossible. So make like a tree and leave!”

In case you have yet to guess, I get cranky when I am rudely awakened by anyone who finds it entertaining to make me up at such a time as five in the morning specially when my head has been resting on the pillow less than an hour.  I of course, opted against it, because that would be rude, so instead I had someone else check, who unlike me had the sense to check the peep hole, and did not recognize the person. Suddenly it hit me. It’s a crazed maniac, this could have turned ugly. As soon as the person noticed motion in my flat, he knocked even louder on my bedroom window. Then knocked on my neighbors house, and jiggled the lock. (I have very good hearing). Then it occurred to me. 911, I was about to grab my cellphone, but couldn’t find it, looked for it a few minutes. When I found it I peeked through the crack in the blinds, and the cops were already there. I learned my neighbor called them.  On the one hand, you can say it’s hysteria, well it wasn’t.

Later I learned from this neighbor the man was drunk out of his mind, and somehow made it from his building about a block or so away from ours to our gated community, trespassed in private property and somehow got up the stairs and decided to have a knock party with my windows and door as well as hers and one other tenants.

Open and shut case, right? Wrong. He was simply released to the custody of his wife. I know I am shocked myself, one could argue case of mistaken building, but I think his first clue that he was in the wrong place was maybe the big iron gate, and to this time, I still fail to see how he made it past the code requiring gate.  I guess it was his lucky weekend or something.

Morale of the story, this girl will never open the door to just anyone. Ever! Alcohol makes people do stupid things, this ranks right up there with, what the hell were you thinking?

I’m not a teetotaler, nor do I suggest anyone be, but just like the alcohol commercials tend to remind us after the temptation of their product. Drink responsibly! Responsibly being the keyword there.

About claoclao

I am another soul that came into this world alone and shall inevitably leave said world the same way. It is not the beginning or the end of my life that matters, only the middle.

Posted on August 6, 2012, in Journal. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

elmickeyman

Cartoons, Movies, Books and entertainment as well as some touchy feely crap

My IVFing Story

IVF Survivor and mother

Letters for Michael

Lessons on being gay, of love, life and lots of it

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

Once Upon a Translation

All my life I have tried to pluck a thistle and plant a flower wherever the flower would grow in thought and mind.

Psycheboy's World

Just another WordPress.com site

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

LadyRomp

Inspirational Blog for Women

betweenfearandlove

Learning the importance of self-worth

I'm not surprised

Talking about the world with reckless abandon.

