In the Dark….

Dear Reader,

Yesterday afternoon, was a day like any other the temperatures dropping ready for the sun to set behind the mountain. The cats were being playful, everything was quiet, like the calm before the storm. Then seven minutes past the hour I hear it. I turn to see the lights in the dining room flicker and a hum sort of noise noise from above me, and before I could react it was eight minutes past the hour and total silence. The power had gone out.

I figured it be back on within the hour, so I took out my scrabble board and I played a game. I lost spectacularly, best score to date. About an hour or two later, the temperature in my place had shot up about ten degrees. I learned a lot about myself yesterday. I’m the most horrible person to be around during a power outage.  I panic like a claustrophobic who finds himself stuck in an elevator for more than a few minutes.

By about 11 PM, I decided it was time for some air. I sat at the top of the stairs outside my door, and looked up at the sky, to pass the time I counted palm trees, and when that failed to amuse me even stars were counted. I looked for the moon and even it decided not to grace me with it’s light. Then it dawned on me, last night was the first night I actually sat on those stairs, waiting for something.

My about half past midnight, I had one of those talks with myself. The world was not over, I was fine, and for a moment I pictured, I was simply stuck in a pre Thomas A. Edison time period. Minus the candles. I felt foolish, making such a fuss. I was foolish, I see that now.

For it was not until this moment that I realized, that while I sat in a hot apartment in total darkness. Dark things were happening, somewhere out there. I read the Yahoo headlines, but unlike, most times, I just skimmed the facts: Shooting, lots of victims. It’s not that I brushed it off, it just simply hit me… As bad as yesterday could have been for me, others had it much worse. Which is not to say my on issues were not pressing, but somehow I realize, that we should try to make the best of a bad situation. Accept the things that you can’t change, work on the things you can and be wise enough to know the difference.

About claoclao

I am another soul that came into this world alone and shall inevitably leave said world the same way. It is not the beginning or the end of my life that matters, only the middle.

Posted on July 20, 2012, in Journal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

elmickeyman

Cartoons, Movies, Books and entertainment as well as some touchy feely crap

My IVFing Story

IVF Survivor and mother

Letters for Michael

Lessons on being gay, of love, life and lots of it

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

Once Upon a Translation

All my life I have tried to pluck a thistle and plant a flower wherever the flower would grow in thought and mind.

Psycheboy's World

Just another WordPress.com site

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

LadyRomp

Inspirational Blog for Women

betweenfearandlove

Learning the importance of self-worth

I'm not surprised

Talking about the world with reckless abandon.

