Billie Jean…

Dear Reader,

Picture this, I was only maybe seven years old. I walk into a living room. The first thing I see is a man with a sparkly black jacket and a shirt, cool high water pants white socks, black shoes and moves to match. Then the most magical thing happened, he moon walked.  I know MJ didn’t invent the moonwalk but he sure made it look good. I vowed to learn to speak English so that I may understand the words that were sung by the most beautiful voice I heard to this day.

The song was Billie Jean, the setting Motown 25. I didn’t know it at the time, but that all was happening on television when I was only a few months old. Yet thanks to reruns MTV was showing it once more. There I was, right time, right place and in time to witness the magic that was, is, and will continue to be Michael Jackson.

Even when I could not understand his words, his voice was always there in the best of times and also in the worst of times, reminding me to “Keep the Faith”, to look at the “Man in the Mirror”; and in  2009, I was reminded that “this life don’t last forever”.

It is difficult to explain to those who have hated him and marginalized him, for things, not a single one of them was there to witness; why MJ is still to this day mourned and celebrated and remembered. Three years ago today, the world cried at the same time, asking themselves why, as though we all expected Michael to live forever. I was one of those many. The emptiness his sudden departure left cannot be put into words.

I will miss you for the rest of my life. Thank you, for being my inspiration, strength, and my faith that the world can truly be a better place.

I made this video back in 2006. Now is holds a far deeper meaning than it did then. Like all his fans, I too wish I had One More Chance at far more than love.

Long Live Michael Jackson…

 

About claoclao

I am another soul that came into this world alone and shall inevitably leave said world the same way. It is not the beginning or the end of my life that matters, only the middle.

Posted on June 25, 2012, in Journal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. One of the few advantages of age is memory, experience and patience. Born in the Baby Boom of the 1950’s I came of age during the 60’s. The main influence on my music choices comes from this era. The Beatles, Rolling Stones, Who, Pink Floyd, CSNY, Bob Dylan, all the rock classics are my everyday fare. Through the 70’s, the 80’s and 90’s, rock, reggae, punk and rap were all played on my radio, but never Disco, except for a few amazing performers like Michael Jackson. During the 70’s I worked as a DJ and did news at a radio station in Marietta Ohio. I had the unhappy job the eighth of December of announcing the shooting and death of John Lennon.

    The new millennium has me choosing my music from the internet. All categories are now on my menu; I have the choice of the best Jazz, Big Band, Classical, Rock, Blues and some Country.

    It is a wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

elmickeyman

Cartoons, Movies, Books and entertainment as well as some touchy feely crap

My IVFing Story

IVF Survivor and mother

Letters for Michael

Lessons on being gay, of love, life and lots of it

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

Once Upon a Translation

All my life I have tried to pluck a thistle and plant a flower wherever the flower would grow in thought and mind.

Psycheboy's World

Just another WordPress.com site

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

LadyRomp

Inspirational Blog for Women

betweenfearandlove

Learning the importance of self-worth

I'm not surprised

Talking about the world with reckless abandon.

