Blair Witched…

Dear Reader,

Back in the early 2000’s I like a lot of people watched The Blair Witch Project.  This is before I read the credits and knew what a fictional documentary was.  So like most everyone, I thought it was real, thus the scared effect was on.  It was not long after I realized what I was watching was actually a movie done in documentary style. Fool me once they say.

Well last night I caught the tale end of a program in Animal Planet HD which was listed as a documentary.  So I watched it: “Mermaids: The Body Found“, it was not until I saw Rebecca. I realized I was not watching a documentary but a made for TV movie.  I’ve seen enough Forensic Files and similar shows to spot the actress. Then there was the whole raw footage caught in a camera phone in the late nineties. Video capture phones were not introduce to market until after 2003 or so. Although, the camera phones were all the rage in Europe by then, the kid was just holding the wrong phone model. Anyway, something was rotten in the state of Denmark for sure.

I thought the story was good, you know I’m interested in mythical creatures, marine life and of course! The stars!… I have never seen the night sky behind a telescope, but it’s one of those things, I hope to do before I’m too old.  I go out side every night and watch the night sky in all of it’s glory. For that moment I feel I can travel across oceans and see the world with a bird’s eye view.

There are so many miles upon miles of ocean we have yet to uncover, that, we may never know if such a creature existed, however, the tales of half humans and half fish have existed in all cultures, and all that varies is the lack or excess of beauty on them.

So if only for a few seconds, I was Blair Witched, but only for a few moments. What has the entertainment world come to if not even Animal Planet can be trusted, to call a movie a movie. or Fictional Documentary.   Had I known, I would have enjoyed it for what it was a movie with some really cool CGI effects for a made for TV movie.

 

About claoclao

I am another soul that came into this world alone and shall inevitably leave said world the same way. It is not the beginning or the end of my life that matters, only the middle.

Posted on May 28, 2012, in Journal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wonderful post. You are a great writer, I enjoy your prose. I admit I to was baffled for a moment, but disappointed that what was presented as fact was actually a fantasy. I enjoy fantasy by the way, but like best when it does not masquerade as a documentary. Avatar under the sea would be beautiful.

Leave a Reply

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

elmickeyman

Cartoons, Movies, Books and entertainment as well as some touchy feely crap

My IVFing Story

IVF Survivor and mother

Letters for Michael

Lessons on being gay, of love, life and lots of it

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

Once Upon a Translation

All my life I have tried to pluck a thistle and plant a flower wherever the flower would grow in thought and mind.

Psycheboy's World

Just another WordPress.com site

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

LadyRomp

Inspirational Blog for Women

betweenfearandlove

Learning the importance of self-worth

I'm not surprised

Talking about the world with reckless abandon.

