Friends…

Dear Reader,

I just saw a commercial that reminded me of the people that have made a positive difference in my life.  One of them of course is my dearest friend Martin.  He and I used to chat on the phone at least once a week. He always tried to scare me, in a fun way.  The day I was suppose to talk to him, my mother gave me the grave news. The phone call would never come again.  In the short while that I knew him, he was absolutely the best friend anyone can have, he always knew when I was sad, and somehow always made me smile. Sometimes when I am sad, I can always hear him say, “Smile girlie, is so much easier than crying”.

Another person that made a difference in my life I met in this September almost two years ago.  I would wake up everyday, with a smile on my face, and like Martin, this person also knew when I was sad, and made me smile quite a bit.  Today I was thinking if I could take a day in my life back, I would take back the day that wonderful friend of mine walked out of my life.  I always say things happen for a reason, that is what keeps me going and keeps alive the faith and hope that has always been a part of my life.

Contrary to popular belief, I don’t have a string of 15-19 friends hanging around for the good, the bad and the lets not go there.  I don’t have the social graces of a high school cheerleader, and had never had that many friends. As much as some people would like to disagree, friends for me have been very few and far between.  I know people by name and face some were classmates others friends of the family, but friends, the kind that are for better or worse, sad to say only two.

While the call will never come and that email packed with loads of smiles will never grace my inbox, I think fondly of them everyday and wish them the best.

On the non human side, I do have two wonderful friends, whom I wouldn’t change for anything. Samantha (Sammie) and Nolan both my cats they are one year old and I’ve had them since they were about two weeks old. They have made me a really happy person.  Nolan seems to understand when I’m sad (he tends to try to cheer me up by acting extra adorable). Sammy has her ways too, lately she has taken a permanent spot to on the left side of my desk, and naps there looking ever so beautiful, she has let me pet her a lot more than usual. Which is great!

So while in days like today, I may think about those friends that made me smile and see life in high def, and probably feel that smile fade away; wishing things could be different, I will try to focus on those tiny moments in the day that are a gift from God and like friendships long gone leave a lasting impression.

About claoclao

I am another soul that came into this world alone and shall inevitably leave said world the same way. It is not the beginning or the end of my life that matters, only the middle.

Posted on May 25, 2012, in Journal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

elmickeyman

Cartoons, Movies, Books and entertainment as well as some touchy feely crap

My IVFing Story

IVF Survivor and mother

Letters for Michael

Lessons on being gay, of love, life and lots of it

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

Once Upon a Translation

All my life I have tried to pluck a thistle and plant a flower wherever the flower would grow in thought and mind.

Psycheboy's World

Just another WordPress.com site

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

LadyRomp

Inspirational Blog for Women

betweenfearandlove

Learning the importance of self-worth

I'm not surprised

Talking about the world with reckless abandon.

